Class System Hysterics

So I’ve been working on the CMS for the class system and it’s been a frustrating but rewarding experience. A lot of times I found myself staring at the screen going “Wth,” but I got through it and have a semi-functional CMS to show for it (semi-functional because it only lets you change the class of one character and even then, it doesn’t show the full amount of classes available to that character).

The class system will allow you to change any of your characters’ classes any time you’re able to open the class menu (when you’re not in a battle or a cutscene), and still retain your characters level, along with obtaining all the skills that you would have gained if you had been leveling as that class the whole time.

If that’s hard to understand, I’m sorry, but it’ll make sense in-game. Promise. 😀

The plan is to have each character have three to five class choices (some characters will be able to obtain the same classes, I’m not insane enough to create five unique classes for each character) by the game’s end. Some classes will be special, though, and won’t be able to be obtained by regular means.

~ by ariedonus on May 29, 2008.

Leave a comment